When I was 11 I bought Stevie Wonder’s seminal “Songs in the Key of Life”, which remains one of my all-time favorite albums. I wore out the original two record vinyl and eventually lost it. I replaced it on CD when CDs became the standard. Later it found its way into my iTunes library.

Last year a friend gave me his entire record collection (because he was moving to a cabin in NM, but that’s another story). Among the hodge-podge of good and bad was an original copy of this great album. Full circle: I had it back!

But the euphoria ended shortly after that. While picking up the record jacket, one of the LPs slid out and cracked on the floor. It was one of those moments that make your stomach turn. Being an advocate of denial however, I filed it away and forgot about it.

Today I was LP diving at a thrift shop in the Heights and there, by itself, without a jacket or anything, was one of the LPs from that album (an exposed record, yikes!). I couldn’t believe it! I negotiated a price ($3?? It is the Heights after all) and ran home to see if was the same one I broke. After all, it could have been the other one.

It was.

This is what we call a Good Omen. Thanks for that.

The cover… so dreamy!

