Part I of III

Today began the week-long process of getting my Steinway revoiced. The technician, Maciej Borgiel, removed the keybed and detached the hammer assembly. With the hammers out, he performed a basic leveling of the keys. The hammers are then taken offsite for the filing process. When he returns with nicely re-shaped hammers, he puts it all back together for the final regulation. This could take up to three sessions over a week.

The end result will be a piano with regulated action, robust hammers, good action, and all the rest. I bought this Steinway off the factory floor in Astoria, NY (their US plant) in 2001. It had never been regulated, so this is long overdue. Still, I’m very nervous. And sad too: I probably play this thing a hundred times a day!

(Continue: Day Two)

