A few months ago, my dad ran across a used Canon 5D Mark II at a local camera shop and in an unexpected act of generosity, decided to buy it for me. “Call it an early birthday present,” he said.

Call me a happy camper. I had been sending him daily emails on camera upgrade options. “What about the 70D/7D/6D/Leica…” I am nothing if not maddeningly indecisive when I set out to buy something. He clearly felt the need to resolve this existential crisis and for that, I am grateful on many levels.

New (not) toy

A post shared by Sparrow and the Nest (@sparrowandthenest) on

 

The Mark II is a few years behind from the newer Mark III, but it’s still a spectacular camera. For many years, it was the gold standard of photojournalism. I’m so thrilled to have it.

Here are a few things I’ve shot with it so far. As you can tell, it’s quite a step up from the iPhone camera! Click any picture, to open a gallery view.

More pics can be found on our flickr page.

Incidentally, I don’t have any high-end lens yet. I mostly use the “Nifty Fifty,” a 50mm fixed lens, but I’m eyeing the Sigma 35mm 1.4, which I plan on buying as a fiftieth birthday present to myself. In the meantime, I’ve been borrowing from my dad’s collection of amazing L series lens.

 

 

 

